Skip to content

Product Review; Ians Gluten Free French Bread Pizza and French Toast

March 28, 2008
by

img_0272.jpg

Since I am working from home now (woohoo!!) I am eating more at-home foods. I decided to try some new stuff and share my findings with you, my few readers :)

I had Ian’s French Toast for breakfast the other morning. I made about 1/2 the box….and the rest is still in the freezer :( I wasn’t all that thrilled. The taste was OK, and the size was good for kids, but they were really crunchy, not soft and sloppy, like I remember french toast being. Perhaps I left them in the oven too long…but I don’t think I will be finishing these. If I were you, I would buy them at Whole Foods, simply because I know they will return stuff that you didn’t like, so you can get your money back (since none of this stuff is cheap!)

For lunch that day I tried the Ian’s French Bread Pizza (I know, why bother, right? I wasn’t impressed by the French toast, but I am a sucker for something new….). They had a “warning” on the label that the soy cheese “would not melt like regular cheese” so I scraped the soy cheese off, and topped my pizza with my own cheese (from Walmart, and it has “GLUTEN FREE” right on the label!). People, this was actually pretty good! I was really surprised. I would suggest trying the Ian’s French Bread Pizza. I made it in the microwave, which isn’t the best method, and it was still pretty OK (for a gluten free quickie lunch).

 

3 Comments
  1. Jane George permalink
    April 7, 2008 4:38 am

    Have to agree with you about the french toast, I had purchased them for my grandson and we both agreed that the french toast I make using Glutino’s raisin bread is waaaaay better, (quote from 8 year old!)

  2. April 30, 2008 4:47 pm

    Have you tried Ian’s GF chicken nuggets? I am not a big nugget eater, but I work part-time at a health food store and we got some in as a sample. I got to take them home and they were great! My recollection of chicken nuggets are the ones from McDonald’s that lookand taste NOTHING like chicken, well these were actually pieces of chicken that you could pull apart and the breading was good too. Great with a little honey mustard. :-)

  3. October 28, 2008 11:42 am

    Baked in the oven and then finished under the broiler the soy cheese on the top of the Ian’s French Bread Pizza does indeed melt. Of course, I’m dairy free so I have to eat the fake cheeses.

    I’ll agree that their french toast sticks leave something to be desired but other than making them from scratch it was a nice change! One final note, their uncured hot dog nuggets are absolutely awful! (of course, I have never had uncured hot dogs before but the coating fell off as well.) I am at some point going to try their chicken nugget dinner.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

