Skip to content

Alamo Celiac Article- Baking Mistake Made Good Cookies

August 13, 2007

Baking Mistake Made Good Cookies!

 

While traveling to Reno last week I decided to bring some gluten free flour “just incase.”

I don’t like to cook, but we all know that traveling is hard, so I wanted to be prepared. I was staying with family, so I had access to a kitchen. We decided to make cookies one night (oh no!). I suggested using my gluten free flour…. why not, right?

I took Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free flour with me. I used the cookie recipe on the back of a bag of Nestle chocolate chips, and added the gluten free flour in place of the regular flour. (I also accidentally added WAY to many chocolate chips…..I bought a big bag, 23 ounces, and the recipe calls for one small bag, or 11.5 ounces, Oops!)

After mixing everything per the instructions on the bag of chips, I tasted the cookie dough. (Don’t we all eat raw cookie dough? Well, I do…..) The dough tasted, um, not right. I remember reading on the listserv emails about a “bean-like” flavor to some gluten free flours, and figured that was probably what was wrong with my cookie dough.

I called my mother-in-law (the best cook I know) and asked her what she thought. She suggested (having not baked with gluten free flour) that I add a little cinnamon sugar or peanut butter. I spooned some dough into two different bowls and added some cinnamon sugar to one, and some peanut butter the other, and ate more raw cookie dough!

I figured that I would just bake a couple cookies of each flavor and see which turned out better. I baked them both per the instructions on the bag of chocolate chips. The Cinnamon Sugar Chocolate Chip Cookies tasted wonderful, but ran all over the wax paper, and made one giant cookie.  The Peanut Butter Chocolate Chips cookies tasted good, and held together also! I really liked the Cinnamon taste better, but they were really flat…..

So I added Peanut Butter to the rest of the dough and made lots of Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies. I made them HUGE, about 6 inches in diameter, because I was tired of baking at this point, and I wanted to get done with the dough fast! They looked like giant gourmet cookies, with the huge sweet chocolate morsels and having doubled the chips that the recipe called for! I was so impressed with my series of mistakes that I had to share them with you. Just add double the Chocolate Chips, (not semi sweet, full sweet) and about 2 cups of peanut butter! And I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Flour. Enjoy!

Comments are closed.

