Skip to content

Not always a good experience…

August 26, 2007

I went to a “trusted” gluten-free restaurant last night for dinner. I have always favored Outback because of their gluten free menu, but let this be a lesson learned, I can never be too safe……

I told the server I was gluten free. He seemed to know what I was talking about. (And the host even brought me the gluten free menu, so HE knew too!). I ordered the Alice Springs Chicken, no bacon, only the cheese and mushrooms, with the veggies, totally dry (NO seasoning, and no butter, just to be safe….). I had a salad to start, with only lettuce and tomatoes, but (and here is where I think I went wrong), I also ordered the Crab dip app, without the tosts, and put it on top of my salad as a kind-of “crab salad.”

 It was really good, for about 25 minutes, and then I was in the bathroom sick….. Now, I know, it might have been something else, but most of us “Celiacs” know the symptoms of glutening, and for me, this was a dead-on-glutening.

I don’t know if it was something in the crab dip (though it is listed as gluten free on the menu) or something in the salad (perhaps stray crouton pieces), but something upset my stomach, in a bad way.

Just another lesson in eating out gluten free, you can’t be too careful. I was simply trusting Outback, since I have been there a million times, but I have to remember that they are only as good as my ordering skills 🙂

Bottom line: BE CAREFUL EATING OUT!!!! But don’t give up on it….

2 Comments
  1. Dru permalink
    September 6, 2007 12:22 pm

    I would bet on the crab dip – it’s probably imitation crab, which is held together with a gluten product.

  2. gftiff permalink*
    September 6, 2007 3:45 pm

    I don’t think so, since it is Outback, and they have a gluten free menu, they wouldn’t have the crab dip listed if it wasn’t gluten free, you know? I was thinking a little cross-contact though, maybe with the crab dip crackers…..

Comments are closed.

