Skip to content

Dinner tonight at Maggiano’s Little Italy

September 5, 2007
by

I was craving italian tonight so we decided to try Maggiano’s Little Italy. I heard that they had a gluten free menu. We saw the giant building from 25 driving home from the Castle Rock Outlet Mall. (The south Denver location). I had great expectations, and for the most part, they were met.

They did not have an actual menu (printed) but the hostess knew what I was talking about, and the server got the Chef right away, so I could tell that they were aware of “gluten” and that was a HUGE first step!!

The food was great. The chef discussed my meal with me, very nice. The servings were huge (LOTS of left-overs!). But the service was very slow. We had an app, dinner, and dessert, and we weren’t ordering slow, and it took over 90 minutes. Now, I do appreciate a Gluten Free meal, so the slow service will not stop me from going back, but it is importing to know, so you don’t make plans for a “dinner and a movie” and expect the movie to come second….

I started with the fresh Mozzarella and Tomato slices. The slices of tomato were really big, as were the mozarella slices! And the Italian Vinaigrette that was drizzled on top was really good too.

For my dinner I had the “Rigatoni D” dish. It was a generous serving of linguini pasta (not sure what brand, Tinkiyada I think…) small mushrooms, grilled chicken, carmelized onions, and a GREAT cream Marsala sauce (the BEST!) This was really good folks.

And for dessert we had the Spumoni’, a three-icecream-mix dessert that has pistachio, cherry, and chocolate icecream. This was also GREAT!

I had no gluten sypmtoms. And I am really confidant because the Chef, Eugene, took my order himself and went over everything with me.

My only complaint would be the wait time (to get food). It took 10 minutes just for the Chef to come to the table. I understand that he is busy, and I appreciate the personal service, so I will not boycot them because of the wait time…..

Location Info:

Denver South-Maggiano’s
7401 South Clinton Street * Englewood, CO 80112-3655
General Manager: Rusty Grimm * Executive Chef: George Poston
Phone: 303-858-1405 * Fax: 303-858-1409
Carryout Phone: 303-858-8786 * Carryout Fax: 303-858-0213
Banquet Phone: 303-858-8781 * Banquet Fax: 303-858-8784
Hours: Mon. – Thurs., 11 AM – 10 PM; Fri. – Sat., 11 AM – 11 PM; Sun., 11 AM – 9 PM  EST
Comments are closed.

