Skip to content

Dinner Last Night: Beau Jo’s Pizza, Gluten Free Crust!!

September 29, 2007
by

I had the most amazing Gluten Free pizza last night at Beau Jo’s! We went to the Arvada location, at the corner of 80th and Wadsworth. There are other locations in Boulder and Denver. Anyway, my husband loves pizza, and I like it ok, but man, this was a GREAT pizza, and I think I might actually fall in love with pizza AFTER going gluten free!!

I ordered the Lil’ Italy pizza, which came with peperoni, black olives, smoked provolone, roasted garlic (can’t you just smell my breath?) and topped with toasted Parmesan cheese. It was sooooo good. The gluten free pizza crusts are all 9 inches, so it wasn’t huge, but the toppings were really piled on, so it was pretty filling.

 The crusts are from Deby’s gluten free bakery. I have to add that if you have had pizza at Deby’s, this is different. I don’t know what they do to the crusts at Beau Jo’s (maybe brush with Olive Oil? Cook in a different kind of oven?) but the crust come out much softer, thicker, and better tasting than the pizza at Deby’s. I think Deby’s tends to burn the bottom of the crust, so I suspect that Beau Jo’s uses a different kind of oven.

Beau Jo’s even has their gluten free menu online, at http://beaujos.com/glutenfree.cfm

I was doubly impressed that the server knew what I was talking about, correct ME about the appetizer, and stayed right on top of things. That made me feel even better about how things were going in the kitchen. We will be going back there A LOT, I am sure….

3 Comments
  1. Dorothy permalink
    October 26, 2007 4:11 pm

    Latest word from Beaujos is that they will open in Boulder on December 10.
    D.

  2. October 26, 2007 11:13 pm

    Thanks for letting me know Dorothy! I can’t wait! We should have dinner there when they open 🙂

  3. Deiv permalink
    December 31, 2007 11:44 am

    Beau Jo’s gets their gluten-free crusts from Deby’s Gluten Free in Denver. Deby’s has a great cafe and a freezer full of to-go items.

Comments are closed.

