Skip to content

Alamo Celiac Article- Gluten-Free Product Review

October 13, 2007
by

Gluten-Free Product Review

 

Nana’s No Gluten Cookies (Chocolate Munch Flavor)– I ordered these cookies from Amazon. I think they have a great flavor, for being gluten, egg, dairy, and refined sugar FREE! There is a bit of a crunch, almost like a rice crispy in the mix, but it is a fairly soft “cookie” in a bar shape. The sweetener leaves a bit of an after taste, but maybe that’s just me. I think they are great snacks to keep in my purse, or for lunch bags. The box reads “No refined sugars, no dairy, no hydrogenated oils, no cholesterol, no eggs, no casein, no soy, no corn, no cane or beet products.” I think these would be great for kids who miss cookies, and parents who don’t want to give them sugar!

 

Debbie’s Gluten Free Bakery Corn Muffin Mix– I picked up this mix at Debbie’s Gluten Free Bakery in Denver. I understand that they also ship orders. The corn muffin mix was simple, which was great for me. I just needed 5 eggs (1 whole, and 4 whites) and a cup of milk. The box lists suggestions for substitutions, or additions to the recipe to spice it up. The mix made 12 large corn muffins. They had a great taste, not too sweet, not too dry. They were a bit crunchy, like coarse corn in the mix. I like that crunch, but other people may not.

 

Whole Foods 365 Brand Corn Bread and Muffin Mix– I wasn’t crazy about this mix right off the bat. The recipe calls for ¼ cup of sugar, and I don’t keep sugar in my house (I try to keep sugar to a minimum). I got some sugar just to try these corn muffins. They cooked quickly, and were a nice consistency (which was a surprise because the mixture seemed very watery before baking). The muffins didn’t seem to rise much during baking, but got a nice, rounded top. They also had a slightly bland taste, compared to the Debbie’s Gluten Free Bakery mix, but not a bad taste at all.

 

Maple Grove Farms, Maple Syrup– This syrup is sugar-free (made with Splenda) and is Gluten Free! Even has “GLUTEN-FREE” on the back label! It tastes very good on gluten free waffles or pancakes. I bought this syrup at Wal-mart.

Comments are closed.

