Skip to content

Cross Contamination is REAL…and sucks….

November 5, 2007
by

I was very excited to go to the Rheinlander Bakery in Arvada and buy some Celias Mixes, which are gluten and sugar free. While there I found out that they had fresh baked goods, like cheese cakes, cookies, and breads. I was so excited that I bought a mini-cheesecake, a mini boston cream pie, a chocolate cake slice, 2 cookies, and a loaf of bread. Now, while it is VERY exciting to see gluten-free goodies in a Bakery, this place is not, by any means, a dedicated facility. There were LOTS of NOT-gluten-free foods there, and they were baking while I was shopping. Well, about 30 minutes after sampling some of my goodies I was sick. And I stayed sick all night…..I don’t know if it was cross contamination, or if the girl behind the counter gave me a non-gluten-free item by mistake, but I got sick either way. I am not going to tell you to avoid Rheinlander Bakery, I am just telling you my story, and suggesting that you take caution. 😦

5 Comments
  1. June 22, 2008 4:46 pm

    Ugh! I am so sorry for you. I understand about the seemingly safe food that turns out to have been in contact with unsafe-for-us food.

    Interesting blog! 🙂

  2. Lynn permalink
    August 15, 2008 9:23 am

    I wondered about that (a REAL bakery that also bakes gluten free items). I’m newly diagnosed with Celiac Disease and I think I’ll play it safe. Whole Foods and Vitamin Cottage have so many GF products now — and there are dedicated bakeries, I’ll stick to those.

  3. August 15, 2008 7:37 pm

    That is what I like to do, better to be safe than sorry. We alredy take a risk when eating out, I don’t want to double it, you know? There is a bakery in Longmont that makes “gluten-free bread” that also makes tons of non-gluten-free bread, and to me, that is not safe bread. I don’t think you can use the same equipment and tools and machines, even if you “clean ’em real good”, and still call it gluten-free. There is a pizza place like that around here too, and I won’t go there either. I just would rather be safe than sorry with things like that.

  4. Matt Miller permalink
    August 19, 2008 8:02 am

    As a side note, while not requiring gluten-free or sugar free products, my wife and I try to eat healthy and she won’t eat regular cakes.
    I ordered some things from Rheinlander online so I could make one for her birthday, when we were going away. Unfortunately, despite the web site saying “Order between Mon-Wed before noon and it will be shipped that day” several times, I ordered Wednesday about 7am their time and it wasn’t shipped until today, the following Tuesday, probably too late to get before we have to leave. They weren’t particularly understanding or helpful either.
    I’m also glad to have found this site as my sister may have to go gluten-free and she can use any resources we can find. Thank you!

  5. August 19, 2008 1:46 pm

    Hi Matt, I am sorry that they were less than helpful. I am personally not a fan of Rheinlander 😦 I have gotten sick from their stuff before.

    I have had good experiences with Deby’s in Denver, but they are not sugar free….

Comments are closed.

