Skip to content

Product Reviews

December 14, 2007
by

Alamo Celiac Article

 

Product Reviews

 

Whole Foods Brand 365 Gluten-Free Pizza Crust- My husband misses ordering a pizza when neither of us feels like cooking. I have tried to find a good pizza substitute, and I am still looking. My greatest challenge with the 365 brand pizza mix was in mixing and rolling it out. The ingredients were easy enough. But as I followed the instructions, and added more dry ingredients to the spinning mixer, I could almost smell the Kitchen Aid motor smoking. I had to deviate from the instructions and add the oil before finishing the dry mix, just so it wasn’t so hard on the mixer. After waiting 45 minutes for the dough to rise I attempted to roll it out. This was so frustrating. This is the only reason why I will not by this mix again. Perhaps someone with more patience will have better luck, but it just wasn’t working for me. I ended up pushing it around with my hands, and baking a pretty thick crust, which took longer to cook, and made for some pretty crispy toppings. The taste was good, and if someone else would have spent over and hour making it, I would have enjoyed it more.

 

Whole Foods Brand 365 Chocolate Chip Cookies- This mix was very simple with few ingredients. But the cookie dough ends up looking and feeling like wet sand and chocolate chips. It was hard to form into cookie mounds on the sheet. I felt like I was playing with dirt. The little sandy mounds melted into thin cookies while baking, making very crunchy cookies, which are not my favorite. But the taste was very good, almost like a brown-sugar cookie. I am sure that more proficient bakers could make this mix work well with a few changes to the recipe on the box. And if you like a crunchy cookie, then this recipe works very well.

 

Whole Foods Bakehouse Cheddar Biscuits- I really really like these biscuits. They have a great texture, great flavor, and are versatile. We enjoyed them as dinner biscuits and as breakfast sandwich biscuits. I sliced them in half, stuffed them with ham and cheese, and microwaved them for 2 minutes. They came out very hot, with the melted cheese and ham flavors, and very good! The only down side is that they must be heated before serving, like most gluten-free breads. I found that microwaving them for at least a minute makes them very soft (while very warm, so be careful!).

 

Whole Foods Bakehouse Bread Cubes- I was very excited to see containers of pre-cubed gluten-free bread on my last trip to Whole Foods (the Pearl Street location in Boulder, CO). The plastic containers hold about 2 ½ cups of bread cubes. These came in very handy for Thanksgiving dinner preparation. I was able to make a great stuffing recipe without baking two loaves of bread first! I think the bread recipe that they used was the same as their Sandwich Bread, so the taste was easily converted into the spices used in my favorite recipe. I doubt this will be a year-round product, but I really enjoy the time saving opportunity and suggest you try them the next time you need bread cubes.   

Comments are closed.

