Skip to content

Product/ Restaurant Reviews

December 23, 2007
by

Here are my latest product and restaurant reviews!

Have I reviewed GF Pastry Chef yet? If not, then I am so sorry!! Because you have been missing out on some great food! I was first introduced to Melissa at GF Pastry Chef at a local Boulder-Longmont Celiac Group event (www.bouldercountyceliacs.com). I was told about her amazing gluten-free hamburger buns, so I ordered some. Man, they are really good! My next order included english muffins and pizza dough (pre-rolled and par-baked). And my most recent order included bread cubes for stuffing, and some really amazing looking eclares! I am telling you, this is one amazing lady! Check her page out at www.sweetescpastries.com  and keep her in mind for (really amazing) gluten free cupcakes, cakes, desserts, and the best pizza crust I have ever found!

My next review is of Zolo Grill in Boulder, CO. I heard amazing things about their gluten-free menu, so my husband and I went there for dinner last night (after seeing National Treasure Two, great movie!) I was less than impressed with the service 😦 but was pretty please with the large selection of gluten-free dishes! Now, I was told that this was a mexican place, so I expected mexican food. But this isn’t exactly mexican food…it is more like gour-mex. I had the lobster stacked quesadillas for the app, and the chicken enchiladas for my dinner. The lobster stack was really good! The chicken enchilladas were ok…they tasted almost like Bar-B-Q to me, like a sweet sauce, instead of a mexican flavor. And they were a bit spicey for me. But, I was still please to be able to order a soft corn tortilla meal, which is often hard to find. So, my over all impression was good, but I doubt that this will be a favorite place of mine….

While grocery shopping today I saw Smart Cookies at Whole Foods. I picked up the peanutbutter and chocolate chip flavor and ate one in the car on the way home. It was really good! The only thing I didn’t like was that the cookie fell apart, like so many gluten-free foods. But the flavor was really great. They are called Smart Cookies, and came only 3 to a small, clear plastic container. They are gluten-free.

Fudge Recipe– A friend was visiting recently, and gave me the best fudge recipe! Naturally, it is gluten-free! 🙂 It consists of simply a bag of semi-sweet chips, a can of sweetened condenced milk, and a tbs of vanilla extract, microwave for 1 minute, pour, and set in the fridge for 3 hours! How easy is that? I make it “Rachel Ray”-style, with a round pan, and the can of s-c-milk wrapped in plastic wrap and placed in the center, and you get a wreath shape! Top with crushed walnuts, and it is the perfect addition to the office Christmas potluck, or gift for the mail (wo)man. I have added peanuts to some, marshmellows, and even did 1/2 Recees PeanutButter chips (bottom) and 1/2 Chocolate (top) for a nice peanutbutter and chocolate fudge!! YUM!

One Comment
  1. April 7, 2008 6:46 pm

    I have three words when it comes to baking GF… Pamela’s Baking mix!!! I love to cook and I love to bake even more… However, I do not enjoy coming up with the wild recipes required for GF baking. Thank you Pamela. I buy all of her baking mixes and can alter them as I so desire. For instance her scone recipe on the back of her large bag of her Pancake & baking mix… I add whatever I want. Sometimes I use honey and yogurt in place of the sugar. Try adding finely chopped fresh rosemary and the zest of an entire lemon to the recipe. My husband is not a celiac and yet we don’t even buy regular flour for him anymore because he prefers Pamela’s. Her chocolate cake mix is divine!!! I am definitely going to try out sweetscpasteries.com. My sister is also a celiac and lives in Denver so I’m going to pass along your site to her. Kelly

Comments are closed.

