Skip to content

Texas Trip and Chinese Food

January 17, 2008
by

I have some great highlights from our weekend trip to Austin!

I can not tell you how handy The Next Exit book was in our travels! www.TheNextExit.com It lists the major highways and the exits and the gas stations, restaurants, and shopping centers at each exit! It was so helpful in finding a place that I knew would have a gluten free menu. Great Book!

I took some food with me for snacks, including brownies by shrewd foods www.shrewdfoods.com and mini peanut packs from planters (bought at sams in “ballpark” sized boxes that have lots of mini bags, great for the purse or backpack). The brownies were GROSS!!! I bought them about a week before the trip and they were moldy and had white, cobweb-looking stuff on top, YUCK! So glad Whole Foods gave me my money back. (The peanuts were great 🙂 )

I also found out, while scavaging a gas station (after cussing at my brownie) that Bugels appear to be gluten free! Yum! I used to put those little chips on my fingers like witch nails! That was a happy moment….

And we stopped for dinner at a Steak N Shake (after scouring The Next Exit for a gf-friendly-looking place…) and I googled “steak n shake gluten free” on my super-handy iPhone, and found the following site; http://gfkitchen.server101.com/Steak%20n%20Shake%20Gluten_NEW.doc

And speaking of the iPhone, it has really proven worth the money, at least as far at gluten-free searches go. I love being able to “google” things and find them while I am actually sitting at the table. It was a pretty penny, but it was worth it.

AND! I found a great Chinese place in Niwot, CO that makes lots of gluten-free dishes! It is called FANS. I have had lunch there twice this last week, and had dinner there tonight 🙂 It is so hard to find Chinese places that do gluten free foods (besides chains like PF Changs and Pei Wei).

3 Comments
  1. Wendy permalink
    January 18, 2008 9:29 am

    Indochine in Parker – Thai and Vietnamese gluten-free menu – featured on Channel 7 and named Channel 7’s #2 Asian-Fusion restaurant in Denver

    Tiffany, there is an amazing Thai and Vietnamese restaurant in Parker, Colorado, where the main focus of the chef is on gluten free dishes. She has even found a way to make her tempura batter gluten free. She was on Channel 7 the day after Christmas talking about her tv show, her current cookbook and the gluten-free cookbook she is launching on Mother’s Day. Her name is Yume Tran, and the restaurant name is Indochine in Parker, Colorado, at Parker Road and Mainstreet, behind the Wells-Fargo building. She had so many customers that were requesting gluten free, she decided to make it a focus of her menu. The response has been amazing. Make sure you make a trip out to see her. And, make sure you tell her hello for me.

  2. January 18, 2008 6:33 pm

    Wow! Steak and Shake has quite a bit on their menu. I’ve never been to one but I’ve seen them in my journeys. I’ll have to remember that. Thanks

  3. Barbara permalink
    January 25, 2008 4:05 pm

    Thanks, for this great info. I love to travel, but get very stressed when hungry!

    Another place I found some great gf menu choices was http://www.gfregistry.com

    Happy hunting to all you celiacs.

Comments are closed.

