Skip to content

Amazing dinner at Abruscis!

March 22, 2008
by

img_0274.jpg

I had the most amazing gluten free dinner tonight. We went to Abrusci’s in Wheat Ridge (ironic, right?) Colorado. That was about an hour drive, but man, it sure was worth it. They had gluten free table bread! And a garlic/olive oil/spices dip to dip the bread in. My husband ate the regular table bread (with his own plate of dipping stuff) and then tried mine, and said mine was better! It was extremely soft and down-right wonderful. This is, by far, above and beyond, the BEST gluten free bread I have ever had (see pic above).

We ordered Calamari to start (gluten free Calamari!!), and I was very impressed. I have had “gluten free calamari” before, and the breading was falling off and it was gross, but not here! This was just the way I remember it, oh so many years ago, with warm, crunchy breading that is stuck to the rings (they had rings mixed in with little squid-guys, so to each his own).

For my meal I ordered the Chicken Parm. It was fantastic. A really nice, crunchy breading (all gf). I was so full by then that I didn’t get dessert (they have 2 gf gelatos), but I did get a pizza and cheese rav. to go!! I will report on those soon 🙂

I can not say enough good things. I highly recommend Abrusci’s. www.abrucis.com

2 Comments
  1. all_GF_here permalink
    March 24, 2008 8:31 pm

    So who is supplying all this amazing gluten-free food to Abrusci’s??? Surely they are not making the raw products like bread and pizza crusts on staff in a “gluten” filled kitchen…..Inquriing minds want to know!

  2. July 17, 2008 1:55 am

    It is Sweet Escapes Pastries. And you can buy their pizza crust and bread from them if you don’t want to go to Wheat Ridge to Abrusci’s to get it! http://www.SweetEscPastries.com

Comments are closed.

