Skip to content

Pizza by Abruscis, Crust by Sweet Escape Pastries

April 3, 2008
by

img_0275.jpg

So I posted about my wonderful dinner at Abrusci’s in Wheat Ridge, CO, and I mentioned that I got a pizza to go. This is the pizza 🙂 It was really good, especially because the crust was like a real pizza crust! I found out that the bread, breading, and crust is provided by Sweet Escape Pastries! One of my already favorite places! How cool is that!?! I knew that I like her pizza crusts at home, but I didn’t realize that they would be this good at Abrusci’s (since the pizza crust at the Beau Jos in Arvada is better than the one at the Beau Jos in Boulder, and both are from Debbies Gluten-Free Bakery…..weird….).  Anyway, here is my pic, and I just wanted to pass along the info!

4 Comments
  1. cheryl permalink
    May 1, 2008 8:39 am

    I just ate a sweet escapes pizza and today I am really sick- I went to her web site and ther is no list of ingredients. How can we go from reading every label to just trusting that we can eat something. How do I know that I’m not alergic to some other ingredient in her breads? She doesn’t even have nutritional information. I am disapointed and surprised.

  2. May 1, 2008 11:44 am

    Hi, thanks for your comment. I have had almost everything Sweet Escape Pastries sells, and I have never gotten sick when I ordered it from her and made it at home. I have been ill after eating at Abruscis, and we all know that is a possibility when you are not in a dedicated facility.

    I probably have 1-2 Sweet Escape Pastries pizza crusts a week, and never been sick from them. Perhaps you are intolerant to another grain? Do you know?

    Also, if you know that you are intolerant to other grains, then you might want to check the ingredients in all gluten free foods before eating the product. I believe the website is still in progress, so try calling or emailing them with questions.

    Hope you feel better!

  3. Karen permalink
    May 21, 2008 1:18 pm

    Just wanted to add some info about Abrusci’s. The owner’s daughters both have celiac and he as a result does have a dedicated part of his kitchen – separate stoves, utensils, equipment, oven, etc., for the gluten free items on the menu.

    He understands how important it is to be careful about cross-contamination – my entire family has gluten intolerance so my husband grilled them pretty extensively before we tried them out. I just hope that if something got in your food it was a fluke and that they haven’t become careless.

    The possibility of another ingredient causing a problem is always there. I also have issues with dairy, sugar and a couple other things, so I have to keep after restaurants about not putting dressings, cheese, etc. on anything I order. Even then sometimes I’ll still end up with something that makes me sick no matter how accommodating the place.

    Looks like Sweet Escapes sells their stuff at Blue Sky Cafe in Lakewood. Might have to tell hubby about them too.

  4. Amanda permalink
    August 4, 2008 4:25 pm

    I don’t like the bread at Sweet Escapes Pastries. It is salty, like there is too much baking soda or something. And I agree that it is really funny that they don’t have their ingredients on their website, like EVERY OTHER gluten-free company! That looks fishy to me. I won’t get any more of their stuff.

Comments are closed.

