Skip to content

Pamela’s chocolate cake and vanilla frosting

January 4, 2009
by

I am about to start my New Years diet, but I have to clean out the pantry first, right?? So I decided to FINALLY try this chocolate cake and vanilla frosting that has been in the deep freezer for about 6 months. I am not a huge cake fan, but I do like cup cakes (built in portion control, at least in theory).

I am a really lazy cook. If it involves mixing different flour types and more than 2 or 3 ingredients, I find some way to mess it up. So I was VERY pleased that these were both so easy to make!

I mixed the cake batter and poured it into cupcake tins. While they were baking I made the frosting. I just used a spoon to mix it, and it was so easy! I didn’t want it to sit out, so I put it in the fridge until the cupcakes were done and cooled. Well, the frosting got rock hard, so I then had to let it sit out for an hour and get back to room temp 🙂 Oops!

But let me tell you, these cupcakes are moist, soft, sweet, and just fantastic!! The frosting is the perfect vanilla, with a slight buttercream flavor. I am really in awe. I wish I could take some kind of credit for this, but this is 100% Pamela’s amazing mixes!

One Comment
  1. January 4, 2009 4:35 pm

    I love Pamela’s Waffle and Baking Mix! Haven’t tried their cake mix yet. So glad to hear that it was moist & not crumbly. I hesitate buying the mixes because I worry they’ll just taste nasty 🙂 Happy New Year!!!

Comments are closed.

