Email from Chipotle
Thank you for writing to us for clarification. Our red tomatillo salsa has a small amount of distilled vinegar in it and while many folks say that is okay for those with a gluten intolerance, some have suggested it might not be. We simply state this as a precaution and allow our customers to know whether or not the vinegar affects them. Our chips and the crispy taco shells are the only items we fry in our fryers so cross contact with flour doesn’t happen there. This is the official statement for gluten that we have posted on our website:
“Most people wanting to avoid gluten can eat anything we serve except for our wheat burrito tortillas, our soft wheat taco tortillas, and possibly our hot red tomatillo salsa (there is a small amount of distilled vinegar in it which some gluten-oriented websites still say might be problematic, although most don’t).
Everything else is fine to eat for most people wanting to avoid gluten, including our crispy corn tacos, our corn chips, and our burrito bowls (no tortilla). However, you should know that it’s possible our corn may have a small amount of gluten from potentially co-mingling with gluten-containing grains in the field.
If you are highly sensitive and would like us to change our gloves, we would be happy to do that at your request. Additionally, because our folks work with wheat tortillas all day long, there may be the possibility of cross-contact in our restaurants. We encourage you to carefully consider your dining choices.”
Thank you for writing to us.
Dawn Dillon | Marketing Consultant
Chipotle Mexican Grill